040822HAO00899WAUKEGAN – With support from State Senator Adriane Johnson, the Illinois State Board of Education awarded eight local school districts with a combined $400,000 for infrastructure improvements.

“School facility quality is an important factor in teacher retention and student learning,” said Johnson (D-Buffalo Grove). “When individuals are comfortable in their classroom, they are more successful. This state investment will directly contribute to an improved learning environment.”

School districts across the 30th District received $50,000 each:

  • Community High School District 128
  • Gurnee SD 56
  • Hawthorn CCSD 73
  • Kildeer Countryside CCSD 96
  • Lincolnshire-Prairieview SD 103
  • Mundelein ESD 75
  • Roundout SD 72
  • Waukegan CUSD 60

Funds will be used for projects to update heating and cooling infrastructure, improvements to ventilation, increased accessibility throughout buildings and more.

In the latest announcement, a total of $30 million in School Maintenance Grants was distributed to districts across the state. To be eligible for the grants, applicants were required to match the state funds and commit to completing proposed projects within two years.

A full list of grantees and awards can be viewed on the ISBE website.

Category: Press Release

Summer Internship Opportunity

Constituent Survey

COVID19 Resources

COVID19 Updates

Follow Sen. Johnson


Contact Us

Springfield Office:
417B Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706

District Office:
149 S. Genesee St.
Waukegan, IL 60085


eNewsletter Signup
  1. First Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  2. Last Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  3. Your Email(*)
    Please let us know your email address.